Orange County Bar Association to Honor Cherrie I. Tsai, Kaiser Aluminum Corporation, With the Prestigious Harmon G. Scoville Award

NEWPORT BEACH, Calif., Sept. 20, 2023 – The Orange County Bar Association announced Cherrie I. Tsai, Vice President, Deputy General Counsel and Corporate Secretary of Kaiser Aluminum Corporation, as this year’s Harmon G. Scoville Award recipient. The award will be presented during the OCBA Volunteer Recognition Reception on November 28, 2023.

Cherrie is a longtime, well-respected and dedicated member of the OCBA. Her significant contributions include: Co-Chair OCBA Mentoring Committee – ongoing; President, Orange County Asian American Bar Association (2009-2010); Board of Directors, OCBA (2010 – 2015); Chair, OCBA Corporate Counsel Section (2018).

Established in 1990, the prestigious Scoville Award was first given to then-retiring Justice Harmon G. Scoville, the Presiding Justice of the Court of Appeal, 4th District, Division 3. Since then, the OCBA has annually presented this award to a member of the Orange County legal community whose career exemplifies the highest standards of the legal profession, who is widely known as a champion of the constitutional system of justice, and who has made significant contributions to the OCBA and its community.

This year's honoree will be joining a long list of extraordinary previous honorees:

Attorney Richard J. McNeil (2022), Attorney John B. Sganga, Jr. (2021), Presiding Judge Kirk H. Nakamura (2020), Attorney Neil Pederson (2019), Attorney Teresa A. McQueen (2018), Attorney John A. Bergen (2017), Attorney Roy L. Comer (2016), Attorney Claudette Kunzman (2015), Attorney Suzanne Viau Chamberlain (2014), Attorney Pearl G. Mann (2013), Judge Wendy S. Lindley (2012), Attorney Robert J. Cohen (2011), Attorney Mary Pat Toups (2010), Attorney Robert Von Esch, Jr. (2009), Attorney Boo J. Giuffre (Posthumously, 2008), Donna H. Fouste (2007), Attorney Alan J. Crivaro (2006), Attorney Grace E. Emery (2005), Attorney Stuart P. Jasper (2004), Attorney John Hurlbut, Jr. (2003), Attorney W. Patrick O’Keefe (2002), Attorney Vernon Hunt, Jr. (2001), Attorney Donna Bashaw (2000), Judge James N. Barr (1999), Public Defender Ronald Butler (1998), Judge Donald Smallwood (1997), Attorney Patricia Herzog (1996), Attorney Marjorie Day (1995), Judge Jack Mandel (1994), Attorney Ann Avery Andres (1993), Judge Francisco Firmat (1992), Attorney Robert “Sam” Barnes (1991) and Justice Harmon G. Scoville (1990).

About the Orange County Bar Association

Established in 1901, the Orange County Bar Association, with over 7,500 members, is one of the largest voluntary bars in California. The mission of the Orange County Bar Association is to enhance the system of justice, to support the lawyers who serve it and to assist the community served by it.


Erick Palacios, (949) 440-6700, ext. 123