



Orange County Bar Association 2011 Franklin G. West Award Application

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2011 Franklin G. West Award, OCBA's highest honor. This annual OCBA recognition was established in memory of Judge Franklin G. West and is considered OCBA's lifetime achievement award. Judge West epitomized the best of the legal profession, both as an attorney and a judge. This Award is presented each year to an outstanding attorney or judge whose lifetime achievements have advanced justice and the law.

Past Franklin G. West Award Honorees

2010	Judge Francisco Briseño	1989	Justice Harmon G. Scoville
2009	Attorney Donald S. Gray (posthumously)	1988	Judge George Francis
2008	Judge Nancy Wieben Stock	1987	Attorney Don W. Martens
2007	Attorney Wylie A. Aitken	1986	Attorney Eugen Andres
2006	Attorney Marjorie G. Fuller	1985	Justice John K. Trotter
2005	Justice Kathleen E. O'Leary	1984	Judge Alicemarie Stotler
2004	Judge Ronald P. Kreber	1983	Judge Kenneth E. Lae
2003	Attorney Andrew J. Guilford	1982	Attorney Arthur W. Gray Jr.
2002	Judge David O. Carter	1981	Attorney William F. Wenke
2001	Attorney Thomas R. Malcolm	1980	Judge Warren Ferguson
2000	Judge John "Jack" Ryan	1979	Judge Byron K. McMillan
1999	Attorney Michael Pursell	1978	Justice Robert Gardner and
1998	Judge Gary L. Taylor		Attorney Garvin Shallenberger
1997	Attorney Maurice "Maury" Evans	1977	Chief Justice Donald R. Wright
1996	Judge Stuart T. Waldrip	1976	Attorney John P. McDonald
1995	Justice Sheila Prell Sonenshine	1975	Attorney George A. Parker
1994	Justice Edward J. Wallin	1974	Judge Raymond Thompson
1993	Attorney Robert "Sam" Barnes	1973	Justice Stephen K. Tamura
1992	Judge Judith Ryan, Ret.	1972	Judge Bruce W. Sumner
1991	Attorney James Obrien	1971	Justice Roger J. Traynor
1990	Judge Samuel B. Taylor (posthumously)		

This Award will be presented at OCBA Judges' Night & Annual Meeting on January 19, 2012. Please submit nominations by Friday, October 21, 2011 to Michael G. Yoder, Awards Committee Chair, c/o OCBA,

Post Office Box 6130, Newport Beach, CA 92658.

Nominations may also be emailed to admin@ocbar.org. Please include a biography of the nominee and the reasons you believe this honor is deserved. Special attention should be given to the nominee's significant contributions to advance justice and the law.

Up to five letters of support may be included.



ORANGE COUNTY BAR ASSOCIATION FRANKLIN G. WEST AWARD NOMINATION

Name of Pe	erson Submitting Nomination:	Phone:			
Address of	Person Submitting Nomination:				
Name of No	ominee:				
Address of	Nominee:				
Please attac	th a biography or CV of nominee.				
Please includescribe the	Reasons why you believe this nominee should be considered for the Franklin G. West Award. Please include: (1) ways in which the Nominee has worked to advance justice and the law; and (2) describe the Nominee's connection to the Orange County legal community, including service through the OCBA or the Orange County courts, pro bono legal services or any other relevant experience.				
. Up to fi	Up to five letters of support may be included with this nomination.				
Let	Letters of support are included Letters of support are not included.				
Return to:	Michael G. Yoder, Awards Committee Chair Orange County Bar Association P.O. Box 6130 Newport Beach, CA 92658 Email: admin@ocbar.org				

Deadline: All nominations must be received by Friday, October 21, 2011.