

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2024 Franklin G. West Award, OCBA's highest honor. This annual OCBA recognition was established in memory of Judge Franklin G. West and is considered OCBA's lifetime achievement award. Judge West epitomized the best of the legal profession, both as an attorney and a judge. This Award is presented each year to an outstanding attorney or judge whose lifetime achievements have advanced justice and the law.

PREVIOUS FRANKLIN G. WEST AWARD HONOREES

- 2023 Attorney Nikki P. Miliband
- 2022 Attorney Mark E. Minyard
- 2021 Attorney Joel S. Miliband
- 2019 Judge James P. Gray
- 2018 Justice William W. Bedsworth
- 2017 Attorney Julie M. McCoy
- 2016 Attorney Dean J. Zipser
- 2015 Attorney Richard W. Millar, Jr.
- 2014 Judge James J. Di Cesare
- 2013 Justice Richard D. Fybel
- 2012 Judge Francisco F. Firmat
- 2011 Attorney John B. Hurlbut Jr.
- 2010 Judge Francisco Briseño
- 2009 Attorney Donald S. Gray (posthumously)
- 2008 Judge Nancy Wieben Stock
- 2007 Attorney Wylie A. Aitken
- 2006 Attorney Marjorie G. Fuller
- 2005 Justice Kathleen E. O'Leary
- 2004 Judge Ronald P. Kreber
- 2003 Attorney Andrew J. Guilford
- 2002 Judge David O. Carter
- 2001 Attorney Thomas R. Malcolm
- 2000 Judge John "Jack" Ryan
- 1999 Attorney Michael Pursell
- 1998 Judge Gary L. Taylor
- 1997 Attorney Maurice "Maury" Evans
- 1996 Judge Stuart T. Waldrip

- 1995 Justice Sheila Prell Sonenshine
- 1994 Justice Edward J. Wallin
- 1993 Attorney Robert "Sam" Barnes
- 1992 Judge Judith Ryan, Ret.
- 1991 Attorney James Obrien
- 1990 Judge Samuel B. Taylor (posthumously)
- 1989 Justice Harmon G. Scoville
- 1988 Judge George Francis
- 1987 Attorney Don W. Martens
- 1986 Attorney Eugen Andres
- 1985 Justice John K. Trotter
- 1984 Judge Alicemarie Stotler
- 1983 Judge Kenneth E. Lae
- 1982 Attorney Arthur W. Gray Jr.
- 1981 Attorney William F. Wenke
- 1980 Judge Warren Ferguson
- 1979 Judge Byron K. McMillan
- 1978 Justice Robert Gardner and Attorney Garvin F. Shallenberger
- 1977 Chief Justice Donald R. Wright
- 1976 Attorney John P. McDonald
- 1975 Attorney George A. Parker
- 1974 Judge Raymond Thompson
- 1973 Justice Stephen K. Tamura
- 1972 Judge Bruce W. Sumner
- 1971 Justice Roger J. Traynor

This award will be presented at the January 16, 2025 OCBA Judges' Night & Annual Meeting. Please submit nominations by Friday, November 1, 2024 to Dan Robinson, Awards Committee Chair, c/o OCBA, Post Office Box 6130, Newport Beach, CA 92658. Nominations may also be emailed to dslaughter@ocbar.org. Please include a biography of the nominee and the reasons you believe this honor is deserved. Special attention should be given to the nominee's significant contributions to advance justice and the law. Up to five letters of support may be included.



1. Name of Person Submitting Nomination:	_Phone:
2. Address of Person Submitting Nomination:	
3. Name of Nominee:	
4. Address of Nominee:	

5. Please attach a biography or CV of nominee.

6. Reasons why you believe this nominee should be considered for the Franklin G. West Award. Please include:

(1) ways in which the Nominee has worked to advance justice and the law; and

(2) describe the Nominee's connection to the Orange County legal community, including service through the OCBA or the Orange County courts, pro bono legal services or any other relevant experience.

7. Letters of support are not required, but may be included with this nomination.

Letters of support are included.

Letters of support are not included.

Return to: Dan Robinson, Awards Committee Chair

Orange County Bar Association P.O. Box 6130 Newport Beach, CA 92658

or email dslaughter@ocbar.org

Deadline: All nominations must be received by Friday, November 1, 2024.