

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2017 Franklin G. West Award, OCBA's highest honor. This annual OCBA recognition was established in memory of Judge Franklin G. West and is considered OCBA's lifetime achievement award. Judge West epitomized the best of the legal profession, both as an attorney and a judge. This Award is presented each year to an outstanding attorney or judge whose lifetime achievements have advanced justice and the law.

PAST FRANKLIN G. WEST AWARD HONOREES

2016	Attorney Dean J. Zipser	1992	Judge Judith Ryan, Ret.
2015	Attorney Richard W. Millar, Jr.	1991	Attorney James Obrien
2014	Judge James J. Di Cesare	1990	Judge Samuel B. Taylor
2013	Justice Richard D. Fybel		(posthumously)
2012	Judge Francisco F. Firmat	1989	Justice Harmon G. Scoville
2011	Attorney John B. Hurlbut Jr.	1988	Judge George Francis
2010	Judge Francisco Briseño	1987	Attorney Don W. Martens
2009	Attorney Donald S. Gray	1986	Attorney Eugen Andres
	(posthumously)	1985	Justice John K. Trotter
2008	Judge Nancy Wieben Stock	1984	Judge Alicemarie Stotler
2007	Attorney Wylie A. Aitken	1983	Judge Kenneth E. Lae
2006	Attorney Marjorie G. Fuller	1982	Attorney Arthur W. Gray Jr.
2005	Justice Kathleen E. O'Leary	1981	Attorney William F. Wenke
2004	Judge Ronald P. Kreber	1980	Judge Warren Ferguson
2003	Attorney Andrew J. Guilford	1979	Judge Byron K. McMillan
2002	Judge David O. Carter	1978	Justice Robert Gardner and
2001	Attorney Thomas R. Malcolm		Attorney Garvin F. Shallenberger
2000	Judge John "Jack" Ryan	1977	Chief Justice Donald R. Wright
1999	Attorney Michael Pursell	1976	Attorney John P. McDonald
1998	Judge Gary L. Taylor	1975	Attorney George A. Parker
1997	Attorney Maurice "Maury" Evans	1974	Judge Raymond Thompson
1996	Judge Stuart T. Waldrip	1973	Justice Stephen K. Tamura
1995	Justice Sheila Prell Sonenshine	1972	Judge Bruce W. Sumner
1994	Justice Edward J. Wallin	1971	Justice Roger J. Traynor

This Award will be presented at the January 18, 2018 OCBA Judges' Night & Annual Meeting.

Please submit nominations by Friday, November 3, 2017 to Ashleigh E. Aitken, Awards Committee Chair,

c/o OCBA, Post Office Box 6130, Newport Beach, CA 92658. Nominations may also be emailed to mocampo@ocbar.org.

Please include a biography of the nominee and the reasons you believe this honor is deserved.

Special attention should be given to the nominee's significant contributions to advance justice and the law.

1993 Attorney Robert "Sam" Barnes



1. Name of P	erson Submitting Nomination:Phone:
2. Address of	Person Submitting Nomination:
3. Name of N	Tominee:
4. Address of	Nominee:
5. Please atta	ch a biography or CV of nominee.
Please included describe the	hy you believe this nominee should be considered for the Franklin G. West Award. e: (1) ways in which the Nominee has worked to advance justice and the law; and (2) Nominee's connection to the Orange County legal community, including service through the Orange County courts, pro bono legal services or any other relevant experience.
7. Letters of s	support are not required, but may be included with this nomination.
Letters	of support are included.
Return to:	Ashleigh E. Aitken, Awards Committee Chair
	Orange County Bar Association
	P.O. Box 6130
-	Newport Beach, CA 92658
	Email: mocampo@ocbar.org

Deadline: All nominations must be received by Friday, November 3, 2017.